How Does Auto Insurance Work In Florida?
Posted on October 29, 2018
State laws governing car insurance vary widely, and insurance in Florida is no different. Florida, unlike many states, does not legally require a driver to have bodily injury liability coverage. However, as you’ll see below, there is a caveat to this that essentially mandates the coverage anyway. 

As with most states, the minimum amount of coverage required is not very high, and nowhere close to what most insurance agents recommend when shopping for Florida car insurance quotes.

Insurance regulations in Florida follow a “no fault” (or Personal Injury Protection) scheme. No fault laws require a driver to have car insurance for their own financial protection but also places limitations on the ability to sue another driver. 

If you’re in an accident in Florida, the insurance carrier will pay your medical expenses and those of your passengers, regardless of whose fault it was. And as noted above, a driver with the no fault arrangement is limited in their ability to sue the responsible party in the event of an accident.

Personal automobiles in Florida are required to have the following liability coverage: Property Damage, with a $10,000 minimum limit.

Additionally, Florida drivers must have the following coverage: Personal Injury Protection (PIP), with a $10,000 limit.

As mentioned, Florida does not require drivers to have bodily injury liability coverage. However, most reputable insurance carriers won’t sell an auto policy without at least the minimum limits. 

In any case, under Florida’s Financial Responsibility Law, if a driver is found to be at fault in an accident resulting in property damage or bodily injury they must have “full” liability coverage. Specifically, the law requires minimum bodily injury liability of $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident and may apply in any of the following circumstances:

- An accident where injuries have occurred in which you’re at fault

- DUI, which then results in your license being revoked

- Any serious offense where the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is required to revoke your license

- Revocation of your license because you’re a frequent offender

- License suspension for too many points

Additionally, you may have the following coverages on your policy:

Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage will cover you in an accident where the other driver either does not have enough insurance or any insurance at all—which unfortunately happens all too frequently these days. 

Though the State of Florida does require PIP coverage, the mandated limits are woefully low and often not enough to cover the medical expenses of those injured in your car. 

This unique coverage can help cover those expenses if necessary. And because Florida does not require bodily injury liability this coverage can also help with medical expenses when PIP has been exhausted.

Collision coverage covers replacement or repair of your own car if it’s involved in an accident. Comprehensive coverage pays for any damage to your vehicle not resulting from a crash, such as fire, theft, falling objects, or damage done to your car by animals. 

Comprehensive and collision coverage are often grouped and purchased together. In addition to increasing liability limits, most agents would recommend purchasing comprehensive and collision coverage.

Do you want to learn more about Florida auto insurance? Contact us today to speak with a licensed auto insurance agent. Get a free quote now.

Join our monthly newsletter to keep up with our new posts!
© COPYRIGHT GOAUTOQUOTE.COM. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Powered By ClickFunnels.com